Awards & Scholarships

2019 Father of the Year

Thomas Ellis

2021 Hall of Honor Recipient

Crystal Key

2019 Louis Wilson Scholarship Recipient

Chelsea Langley 

Louis Wilson Scholarship

The Alabama Cattlewomen’s Association presents a $1000 scholarship in honor of Louise Wilson, the first executive director of what was first called the Alabama CowBelles and later became known as the Alabama Cattlewomen’s Association. Mrs. Wilson was a strong supporter of young people being a part of Alabama’s cattle industry and the promotion of Bama BEEF. It is in her memory that this scholarship is awarded to a high school senior, male or female, with leadership and academic excellence and family ties to the Alabama BEEF industry. Funding for all the ACWA scholarships are provided by the ACWA’s convention country store and other generous donations.


The Hall of Honor was established in 1990 as an honorary to be called the Alabama CattleWomen’s Hall of Honor. The purpose of the Alabama CattleWomen’s Hall of Honor is to bestow honor and recognition upon living CattleWomen who have made significant contributions in support of the Alabama CattleWomen’s Association and the promotion of the beef industry.

The Cowbelle Award was established in 2002 as an honorary to deceased Alabama CattleWomen.  The purpose of the Cowbelle Award is to honor posthumously those CattleWomen, who during their lifetime, were an inspiration, mentor, and promoter of the Alabama CattleWomen’s Association and the beef industry. The Cowbelle Award is a way to pay tribute to deceased Cattlewomen who gave their time, dedication and resources in service to Beef Promotion, Youth and the ACWA, but were not honored during their lifetime through induction into the Hall of Honor.